Shiloh Discussion Group
kaschykb

Newfound interest in Shiloh

Hello,

I am a long time amateur CW historian but have a newfound interest in Shiloh due to my ancestral link. As a result of some active family genealogy I discovered I have ancestors who fought on both sides of the battle. My 3rd great grandfather CC Harris was a 1SGT with the 12th Tennessee, Russell's Brigade, Clark's Division, Polk's Corps. And his future daughter's uncle-in-law, David H Marshall, was there on the Union side with the 13th Kentucky Infantry, Boyle's Brigade, 5th Division, Army of the Ohio.

As a result of this my interest in Shiloh has been reinvigorated. I'll be following this board closely. Any information on these units or direction to primary source material will be most welcome.

The image attached is GGG Gpa CC Harris. If anyone can provide info on this uniform I'd be thankful.

Thanks for the hospitality,

-Brian

post-345-0-83301300-1373595584_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the board Brian. Great picture. The hat looks distinctive and should be a big help in identifying the uniform. The coat reminds me of my old uniform - won't button over my beer belly.

Jim

Brian,

I also have interest in Conquest Harris. I am writing a book on the confederates of Northern California and am looking for info on him. i have close to 400 confederates so each person is getting around 3-4 pages. i would appreciate all the info you can give me on Conquest. I would also like to use your photo. This book is more about the military aspect of their lives and very short on the post war.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and the photo would be courtesyed in the book.

thanks

Jeff

Hello Brian

Welcome. I find the Battle of Shiloh to be very interesting and much neglected by many. The park is one of the best of the restored battlefield parks. Grant himself described the battle as the most confusing he fought in.