Shiloh Discussion Group
SJ Wells

Hello from the mountain state

Hi all. I found this site a couple of days ago and have been lurking. I am a writer, and am working on a story. Part of the book takes place at Shiloh. I didn't know very much, so I started doing some research. Imagine my shock at how much I would have to know in order to know where to place my characters. :) I found the youtube videos of the hiking tours. Now, keep in mind I am blind, but I love watching the tours with Tim Smith. I started watching to get an idea what the battlefield might have been like. I am from WV. I have never been to Tn, so I'm literally going in blind. Pun intended. :) My characters are all works of fiction, but I wanted to know what it might have been like for them, so I've been researching and researching and... You get what I mean. Anyway, I'll continue to read everyone's posts on this site, but I wanted to join and say hi and thanks for this group. Two of my main characters are from Ky. One is Union and the other is Confederate. They meet on the battlefield. Where? I don't know yet. This is what I'm trying to figure out. It has been difficult. If anyone is interested in helping, feel free. If y'all think I'm crazy, well, you won't be the only ones. :)

Hi SJ.....

Welcome to the Shiloh Discussion Group.  Any time you have questions, please ask.  Most folks here (including authors, rangers, re-enactors, students of the civil war, etc.) are very knowledgeable about Shiloh, other battlefields and the American Civil War in General.

Have you published any other books?

THE MANASSAS BELLE

Thank you for the warm welcome. Yes, I have published 3 previous books. The most recent is "A Moment in Time". I went to my first reenactment a couple of weeks ago. It rained, it was a Saturday evening, and I don't think many showed up. It was at Carnifex Ferry here in WV. When I find the appropriate place to post my questions on here, I'll I ask away. :)