Shiloh Discussion Group
Russell Martin

Howdy

Hello all

My name is Russell Martin. I am a paramedic in Tulsa OK, but history has always been my love. I have a BA in History from OSU. I have been to a lot of Civil War battlefields, but have always been more interested in the operations that preceded the battles, and the operations afterward. I spent 11 years in the Army and the Navy (Navy time I was assigned to the Marine Corps). 

I did my senior thesis on Operations in the Indian Territory from April 1863 to September 1st, 1863. 

I read voraciously, and am currently reading The Battle of the Wilderness by Gordon Rhea, and Landscape Turned Red by Stephen Sears. I enjoy research, and delve frequently into the ORs. I am torn between reading Tim Smith's  Shiloh Conquer or Perish or Wiley Sword's Shiloh Bloody Sunday when I finish Sears. (I try to put other battles or topics in between books on Shiloh and the Trans-Mississippi).

I look forward to learning from all of you. 

Russell 

• Like 1

Glad you could join us, Russell.  We look forward to your participating in our discussions on Shiloh.  Friendly group here.  Let us know if you have any questions.

THE MANASSAS BELLE

• Like 1

Russell

Welcome to the SDG. I believe this is the best Shiloh-related site on the Internet; and look forward to your take on matters of historical interest.

All the best

Ozzy

• Like 1

Army? Navy? Marines? You should have tried the best! The USAF! I won't hold it against you though. Welcome to the SDG.

Jim

Welcome, Russell! Glad to have you with us. 

Definitely would go for Tim Smith's book. I myself am finally in the home stretch of the book, having also been reading a few others at the same time. Very detail oriented & very well put together! 

-Paul 

Hello Russell